The Tories lost six seats previously held by prime ministers

A total disaster for the Tories

A photo of Rishi Sunak looking at something in a folder

The Tories suffered their worst ever defeat at the general election, which saw Labour’s Keir Starmer become the country’s new prime minister following a landslide victory.

As part of the wipeout they experienced at the election, Rishi Sunak’s party lost seats that they have held for years, in many cases for decades.

In a dramatic development, six of the seats the Tories lost were held by former prime ministers:

  • Liz Truss – the UK’s shortest-lived prime minister lost her seat to Labour.
  • Labour also won Uxbridge and Ruislip from the Tories – the seat Boris Johnson held when he was prime minister.
  • Henley and Thames – the successor to the constituency Johnson held before Uxbridge and Ruislip was won by the Liberal Democrats.
  • The Liberal Democrats also won Maidenhead – the seat previously held by Theresa May.
  • In another victory for the Lib Dems, the party won David Cameron’s old seat of Witney.
  • Finally, Labour won Margaret Thatcher’s old constituency of Finchley and Golders Green.

Chris Jarvis is head of strategy and development at Left Foot Forward

Image credit: Simon Dawson – Creative Commons

Comments are closed.