Which nationalities have the right to vote in UK general elections?

Over 1.5 million foreign nationals can vote in this election but many more can not.

Ahead of tommorow’s deadline to register to vote, we are publishing a list of some of the nationalities who can vote in this election – along with the size of some of these populations in the UK.

The Labour Party have pledged to give voting rights to everyone living in the UK but, at the moment, only citizens from Ireland and the following Commonwealth countries are allowed to help decide who rules the country they live in.

According to the latest data, there are over 1.5 million people from the following nationalities living in the UK. There are more nationalities able to vote – they can be seen on the full list.

  • India – 355,000 people
  • Ireland – 331,000
  • Pakistan – 194,000
  • Nigeria – 94,000
  • South Africa – 86,000
  • Bangladesh – 83,000
  • Australia – 80,000
  • Sri Lanka – 49,000
  • Zimbabwe – 48,000
  • Ghana – 47,000
  • Nepal – 46,000
  • Canada – 43,000
  • New Zealand – 40,000
  • Jamaica – 34,000
  • Malaysia – 34,000
  • Kenya – 16,000

Other countries on the full list include the Bahamas, Botswana, Malta, Singapore, Trinidad and Tobago and Uganda.

Aside from Ireland, Malta and Cyprus – EU citizens can not vote in general elections.

As you’re here, we have something to ask you. What we do here to deliver real news is more important than ever. But there’s a problem: we need readers like you to chip in to help us survive. We deliver progressive, independent media, that challenges the right’s hateful rhetoric. Together we can find the stories that get lost.

We’re not bankrolled by billionaire donors, but rely on readers chipping in whatever they can afford to protect our independence. What we do isn’t free, and we run on a shoestring. Can you help by chipping in as little as £1 a week to help us survive? Whatever you can donate, we’re so grateful - and we will ensure your money goes as far as possible to deliver hard-hitting news.

5 Responses to “Which nationalities have the right to vote in UK general elections?”

  1. Julia Gibb

    Quite some skill to write such an article and avoid the obvious “Empire” factor. If you were once ruled by London you can vote. We only recognise the conquered, those we ruled.

    Some people still cannot face reality!

  2. Dave Roberts

    Good response Julia but the question is one of legality. Are these people being denied a vote because they are British citizens or because they aren’t entitled to vote in the first place? We need to be told. Someone who is entitled to vote can do so. Someone who isn’t can’t. Simples! It’s like the so called Windrush crap. Fill in the forms and it’s all OK.

  3. Cole

    I thought the point of this was to tell us who can vote – not a diatribe about the British Empire.

  4. ChrisC

    If people are not sufficiently committed to this country to apply for citizenship, why should they be given the same voting status as those who are citizens of this country? The eagerness of some in this party to disfavour the indigenous population in every way they can possibly find is one of the problems in campaigning we inflict on ourselves – the electorate knows all too well what is going on, courtesy of hostile newspapers which are delighted to tell them (and for once, we can’t accuse them of bias or lies, because they are simply reporting the truth).

  5. Sergio

    I like the way you present and maintain all of the facts as well as your overall
    writing style. From time to time, there’s a shortage
    of time to read lengthy bits, but yours is short and succinct, I spent only a couple of minutes to read the whole article.
    It is vital since nobody has the time to browse.

Comments are closed.