Trouble ahead for Cameron: Majority of Euro rebels were from class of 2010

The majority of the Tory rebels in last night’s European referendum vote in the Commons were newly elected MPs, spelling troubled times ahead for David Cameron.

The majority of the Conservative rebels in last night’s European Union referendum vote in the Commons – more than three fifths – were newly elected MPs, spelling troubled times ahead for David Cameron.

In all, a third of the class of 2010 rebelled.

The new MPs voting against the three-line whip were:

Stuart Andrew (Pudsey)
Steve Baker (Wycombe)
Andrew Bingham (High Peak)
Bob Blackman (Harrow East)
Andrew Bridgen (Leicestershire North West)
Steve Brine (Winchester)
Fiona Bruce (Congleton)
Dan Byles (Warwickshire North)
Tracey Crouch (Chatham & Aylesford)
Nick de Bois (Enfield North)
Caroline Dinenage (Gosport)
Richard Drax (Dorset South)
Lorraine Fullbrook (South Ribble)
Zac Goldsmith (Richmond Park)
Chris Heaton-Harris (Daventry)
Gordon Henderson (Sittingbourne & Sheppey)
George Hollingbery (Meon Valley)
Marcus Jones (Nuneaton)
Chris Kelly (Dudley South)
Andrea Leadsom (Northamptonshire South)
Jeremy Lefroy (Stafford)
Karen Lumley (Redditch)
Jason McCartney (Colne Valley)
Karl McCartney (Lincoln)
Stephen McPartland (Stevenage)
Nigel Mills (Amber Valley)
Anne Marie Morris (Newton Abbot)
James Morris (Halesowen & Rowley Regis)
Stephen Mosley (Chester, City of)
Sheryll Murray (Cornwall South East)
Caroline Nokes (Romsey & Southampton North)
David Nuttall (Bury North)
Matthew Offord (Hendon)
Neil Parish (Tiverton & Honiton)
Priti Patel (Witham)
Andrew Percy (Brigg & Goole)
Mark Reckless (Rochester & Strood)
Jacob Rees-Mogg (Somerset North East)
Simon Reevell (Dewsbury)
Henry Smith (Crawley)
John Stevenson (Carlisle)
Bob Stewart (Beckenham)
Gary Streeter (South West Devon)
Julian Sturdy (York Outer)
Justin Tomlinson (Swindon North)
Martin Vickers (Cleethorpes)
Robin Walker (Worcester)
Heather Wheeler (Derbyshire South)
Craig Whittaker (Calder Valley)
Dr Sarah Wollaston (Totnes)

In total, there were 81 Tory rebels, 19 Labour, one Lib Dem, eight DUP, one Independent Unionist and one Green; full list here.

We will have more on the EU referendum vote later today on Left Foot Forward.

See also:

Five reasons why Commons Euro vote is not Cameron’s Clause IV momentDaniel Elton, October 24th 2011

Tories may care deeply about Europe, but no one else doesDaniel Elton, October 21st 2011

While the Tories squabble over EU membership what’s the future for the euro?Ben Fox, October 21st 2011

Look Left – Tory obsession with Europe goes on. And on. And onShamik Das, October 2nd 2011

Huhne attacks “Tea Party Tories” – who on Earth does he mean?!Alex Hern, September 20th 2011

Like this article? Sign up to Left Foot Forward's weekday email for the latest progressive news and comment - and support campaigning journalism by making a donation today.