The hall of shame: The 117 Labour and Tory MPs who voted against Lords reform

Last night, 91 Conservative and 26 Labour MPs voted against the second reading of the House of Lords Reform Bill; here is the list in full.

E-mail-sign-up Donate



The Labour 2010 manifesto is clear:

House-of-Lords-Portcullis“We need fundamental reform of our politics to make it more accountable.

“We will let the people decide how to reform our institutions and our politics: changing the voting system and electing a second chamber to replace the House of Lords.”

As is the Tory general election manifesto:

“We will work to build a consensus for a mainly-elected second chamber to replace the current House of Lords, recognising that an efficient and effective second chamber should play an important role in our democracy and requires both legitimacy and public confidence.”

Yet, last night, 91 Conservative and 26 Labour MPs voted against the manifestos on which they were elected, voting against the second reading of the House of Lords Reform Bill (pdf).


See also:

A coalition (still) at war over Lords reform 27 Jun 2012

Tory tantrums: Backbenchers on the warpath over Hunt and Lords reform 18 Jun 2012

Labour must get back to its principles on Lords reform 23 Apr 2012


Here is the hall of shame in full:

• Conservatives:

Adam Afriyie (Windsor)

David Amess (Southend West)

Steven Baker (Wycombe)

John Baron (Basildon and Billericay)

Guto Bebb (Aberconwy)

Andrew Bingham (High Peak)

Brian Binley (Northampton South)

Bob Blackman (Harrow East)

Nicola Blackwood (Oxford West and Abingdon)

Peter Bone (Wellingborough)

Graham Brady (Altrincham and Sale West)

Angie Bray (Ealing Central and Acton)

Julian Brazier (Canterbury)

Andrew Bridgen (Leicestershire North West)

Steve Brine (Winchester)

Conor Burns (Bournemouth West)

Dan Byles (Warwickshire North)

Alun Cairns (Vale of Glamorgan)

Bill Cash (Stone)

Christopher Chope (Christchurch)

James Clappison (Hertsmere)

Geoffrey Clifton-Brown (Cotswolds)

Geoffrey Cox (Devon West and Torridge)

Tracey Crouch (Chatham and Aylesford)

Philip Davies (Shipley)

David Davis (Haltemprice & Howden)

Nick de Bois (Enfield North)

Caroline Dinenage (Gosport)

Nadine Dorries (Bedfordshire Mid)

Richard Drax (Dorset South)

George Eustice (Camborne and Redruth)

Mike Freer (Finchley & Golders Green)

Richard Fuller (Bedford)

Zac Goldsmith (Richmond Park)

James Gray (Wiltshire North)

Andrew Griffiths (Burton)

Richard Harrington (Watford)

Simon Hart (Carmarthen West and Pembrokeshire South)

Sir Alan Haselhurst (Saffron Walden)

Philip Hollobone (Kettering)

Adam Holloway (Gravesham)

Stewart Jackson (Peterborough)

Bernard Jenkin (Harwich & Essex North)

Gareth Johnson (Dartford)

Chris Kelly (Dudley South)

Eleanor Laing (Epping Forest)

Phillip Lee (Bracknell)

Edward Leigh (Gainsborough)

Charlotte Leslie (Bristol North West)

Julian Lewis (New Forest East)

Ian Liddell-Grainger (Bridgwater and Somerset West)

Peter Lilley (Hitchin & Harpenden)

Jonathan Lord (Woking)

Karen Lumley (Redditch)

Jason McCartney (Colne Valley)

Karl McCartney (Lincoln)

Anne McIntosh (Thirsk & Malton)

Anne Main (St Albans)

Louise Mensch (Corby)

Patrick Mercer (Newark)

Penny Mordaunt (Portsmouth North)

James Morris (Halesowen & Rowley Regis),

Jesse Norman (Hereford & Herefordshire South)

David Nuttall (Bury North)

Matthew Offord (Hendon)

Mark Pawsey (Rugby)

Andrew Percy (Brigg & Goole)

Chris Pincher (Tamworth)

John Redwood (Wokingham)

Jacob Rees-Mogg (Somerset North East)

Simon Reevell (Dewsbury)

Sir Malcolm Rifkind (Kensington)

Laurence Robertson (Tewkesbury)

Andrew Rosindell (Romford)

David Ruffley (Bury St Edmunds)

Richard Shepherd (Aldridge-Brownhills)

Nicholas Soames (Sussex Mid)

Bob Stewart (Beckenham)

Rory Stewart (Penrith & The Border)

Gary Streeter (Devon South West)

Graham Stuart (Beverley & Holderness)

Sir Peter Tapsell (Louth & Horncastle)

David Tredinnick (Bosworth)

Andrew Turner (Isle of Wight)

Charles Walker (Broxbourne)

Robin Walker (Worcester)

Robert Walter (Dorset North)

Chris White (Warwick & Leamington)

Craig Whittaker (Calder Valley)

John Whittingdale (Maldon)

Nadhim Zahawi (Stratford-on-Avon)

• Labour

Adrian Bailey (West Bromwich West)

Kevin Barron (Rother Valley)

Margaret Beckett (Derby South)

Sir Stuart Bell (Middlesbrough)

David Blunkett (Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough)

Ronnie Campbell (Blyth Valley)

Ann Clwyd (Cynon Valley)

Jim Cunningham (Coventry South)

Jim Dowd (Lewisham West and Penge)

Frank Field (Birkenhead)

Mike Gapes (Ilford South)

Dai Havard (Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney)

Stephen Hepburn (Jarrow)

Kate Hoey (Vauxhall)

Kelvin Hopkins (Luton North)

George Howarth (Knowsley)

Sir Gerald Kaufman (Manchester Gorton)

Siobhain McDonagh (Mitcham and Morden)

Andrew Miller (Ellesmere Port and Neston)

Madeleine Moon (Bridgend)

Geoffrey Robinson (Coventry North West)

Frank Roy (Motherwell and Wishaw)

Barry Sheerman (Huddersfield)

Dennis Skinner (Bolsover)

Graham Stringer (Blackley and Broughton)

Derek Twigg (Halton)


Sign-up to our weekly email • Donate to Left Foot Forward

Like this article? Sign up to Left Foot Forward's weekday email for the latest progressive news and comment - and support campaigning journalism by making a donation today.